Sunday reflections

Ever since I’ve been on sabbatical, I’ve been studying for one exam or another, so it was nice to have a week where I didn’t feel any pressure to study. Instead, I’ve been focusing on getting the flat cleaned up. The kitchen and bathroom are spotless, and the bedroom is on its way. I’ve made a start on the lounge, but that’s going to be a bit of a longer term project. And then I get to work on the hall cupboard, which is going to be a much longer term project.

Once again, I didn’t quite meet the goal of writing to five friends, although I did manage to get in touch with three. There was one particularly tough letter to write that took several hours. Not because I’d completely lost touch with this person, or because we’d parted on bad terms or anything like that. Rather, they are going through a difficult time at the moment and I couldn’t figure out what to say. I guess it was hard because I’ve been in a somewhat similar situation myself, and I know that there’s not really anything I could say to help them feel better. It took several hours to basically say “I’m thinking of you.”.

I kind of sucked on the exercise front. I only managed a total of 4 hours, which isn’t too great, although I suppose it’s better than nothing. However, I’m very pleased that I managed to stick to my diet this week. Hopefully, I can keep that up. Even though I didn’t meet my exercise quota, I’ve lost another 1.2kg, bringing the total lost to 1.7kg. Woot!

I’m going to be spending the next week learning how to make jewellery, so my goals for the week will be slightly reduced. It will be a good test to see if I can keep up the daily posting on this blog when I’ve got a full-time commitment. So, goals for the upcoming week are:

  • Write to four friends.
  • Get 5 hours of exercise.
  • Keep up daily blog posting.
  • Throw out 5kg of crap clutter from the lounge.

Wish me luck!

Photo courtesy D. Sharon Pruitt.

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

